A Bittersweet legacy
A Sister's Bond  ( A Bittersweet Legacy Book 1)


North London, November 1913. The storm clouds of war gather overhead, while one brave girl fights to save her family . . .

After her mother dies, Livvie Bone knows it's down to her to support her family and protect her younger siblings from their drunken father. But life in Wood Green in 1913 is hard and full of danger, and one night she needs protection herself. When the mysterious Joe Hunter steps in to help her, Livvie can't help but be drawn to him in spite of his unsavoury reputation.

Then Livvie is offered the chance to work at the Barratt's Sweet Factory. Suddenly she has a chance to better herself - and to offer her family a way out. Livvie's fragile beauty hides a formidable strength of character, and it doesn't take long for the factory manager, Lucas, to notice her. He is a man of the world, a sophisticated, compelling character and he can open doors to the kind of life Livvie has only dreamed of. But time is running out, for war is approaching, sweeping everything and everyone up in its remorseless path.

What will Livvie choose - and who will come back to her when the fighting ends?

A Lonely Heart ( A Bittersweet Legacy Book 2)


Growing up in fear of their cruel, drunken father, Olivia Bone and her siblings haven't had an easy start in life. But when Livvie's fiancé Joe is killed at Ypres, and he bequeaths her his house in Islington, it seems like the Bone family might finally escape the worst street in North London.

Though their new life is anything but settled, at least Livvie has a good friend in Matilda Keiver, and a better one in Lieutenant Lucas Black, her old boss at the Barratt's sweet factory. Lucas and Livvie might be from very different worlds, but he treats her with kindness and respect. As they become closer, she grows determined to assist with the war effort and help the brave men like him.

Livvie's life as a factory girl in no way prepares her for the sights she sees on the front line, where she enlists as a nurse - but amongst the violence and heartache, she finds new friends, and new meaning in life.

As she falls deeper in love with Lucas, Livvie realises he has secrets that he won't share - and that there can be no future for them without mutual trust. But with the world at war, should Livvie follow her heart, or her head - before it is too late?

The Way Home  ( A Bittersweet Legacy Book 3)


The next book in a compelling saga series set during WW1, based on the lives of the female factory workers at Barratt's Sweet Factory. Inspired by the true stories from the author's grandmother, the Barratt's Sweet Factory sagas bring to life wartime London, celebrating the everyday heroism of families who fought to rise above their circumstances.


This book sees Livvie working in the field hospitals of France, facing the horrors of war whilst still trying to keep her family together.


  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon